The Conditions of Suffering



1.    Dukkha: suffering, dissatisfaction, unease

a.    The Buddha analyzed the nature and causes of suffering, like a doctor diagnosing a disease, to understand and overcome them.  Buddhism is not inherently pessimistic.  Attempt to see things as they are, decide on the best way to respond to them.

b.    Three levels of dukkha: ordinary suffering, dukkha as change, the five attachment groups.

c.    Anicca: impermanence, change 

                                     i.     We are surprised by change, often disturbed.  We get used to things. All things, including ourselves, in flux.

                                   ii.     One tries but cannot cling to anything, as all things arise and pass.

                                 iii.     For example: The shock of change: seeing old friends appearance, your own face, physical change, divorce, death, illness.

d.    Anatta: no permanent self.

                                     i.     No permanent reality behind phenomenal reality: all is process, change. No self that is constant.

                                   ii.     The Individual = Groups of events (skandas): Bodily events, perceptions, feelings, dispositions, states of consciousness.  The individual is a temporary combination of such events

                                   iii.     There is no soul that transmigrates