Hindu Worship: Puja


Darsan, Murti, Puja, and Prasad


1.      Darsan: auspicious seeing

a.       The prominent role of the eyes in apprehending the sacred

b.      Giving and taking darsan

c.       Iconic and aniconic images

2.      Murti: iconic images of the gods

a.       Divine descent

b.      Embodiment of the deity: from formlessness to form

3.      Puja: rites of worship and honor

a.       Divine-human reciprocity

4.      Prasad: offerings of food